Paul Lafayet Review

I was actually on my way to Laduree but was quite disappointed that they only opened a takeaway counter selling just macaron and not a cafe.

In my last trip to Paris, having tried a number of patisserie, its no surprise that Laduree is at the top of their game. If I am looking for just macaron, I might just pop in one of these days to try.

IMG_1430[1] IMG_1429[1] IMG_1428[1]

Anyway, got sidetracked, so I decided to satisfy my cravings by heading to Paul Lafayet at the Citysuper takeaway branch in haborcity.

IMG_1431[1]

Bought the apple rhubarb crumble, it was nice. Got some custard from Citysuper to go with it. Either I am unlucky cause, I couldn’t taste any rhubarb but it was nice nevertheless. The apple was soft with a crunch and there is cinnamon, who doesn’t love cinnamon? I like the crust as well as I like it crunchy.

IMG_1433[1] IMG_1435[1]

Next, I had the tiramisu, I think this is quite average but still nice. I must say Paul Lafayet is quite extravagant, the apple crumble and tiramisu are both set in clay like pots and not your average flimsy plastic takeaways. 

For the macarons, I bought banana balsamic, vanilla,  earl grey, pistachio, jasmine, lychee.

Paul’s macarons are BIG on flavor. I love it, its not overpowering.  I am a big flavor person coming from south east asia, who isn’t? But I am missing the balsamic here.

Then lychee, vanilla, jasmine etc are all amazing. But if you compare it to  Laduree or other brands, they might need a little work on their texture. Some of the macarons will crack. That being said, the texture is not a big problem for me as its not falling apart and its still holding together, I will still buy from them again.

It helps to know that they also use less sugar.

IMG_1436[1]

Leave a Reply

