Where to eat noodles in Hong Kong?

Its rare nowadays for noodle shops to prepare their noodles using the traditional bamboo as its labor intensive.

They give a nice medium hard texture if its cooked well.
They are served with wan ton, beef brisket, just like normal noodles.

I prefer HK style noodles in soup compared to their Lo Mein (dry noodles in sauce or the lack off;can be pretty dry).

To start off, here’s my compilation of bamboo pressed noodles, followed by the normal noodles.

Bamboo Pressed Noodles

坤記竹昇麵 Kwan Kee Bamboo Noodle @ Cheung Sha Wan

This is my favourite of all noodle shops. The service is really good and friendly. (not typical of HK cafes)
The shop front has a glass window where the chef will conduct bamboo noodle demonstration about mid day (think 12 or 1pm).

G/F, 1E Wing Lung Street, Cheung Sha Wan MTR Exit C1 (1 stop after Sham Shui Po), walk straight, cross two roads and keep a lookout on your left.

IMG_2317 IMG_2321 IMG_2325

劉森記麵家 Lau Sum Kee Bamboo noodles@ Sham Shui Po

This is probably my personal second best as the texture of noodles are just right. Very packed, table sharing.
Service not great.

G/F, 48 Kweilin Street, Sham Shui Po Exit D2, cross two roads, and it should be on your right.

IMG_5387

黃枝記麵家 Wong Chi Kee @ Central, Stanley Street, Bamboo pressed

I love this place for Congee. I think its the best. Their noodles are pretty average. But I like their service and it feels more like a restaurant than a cafe.

Basement, 10-12 Stanley Street, Central MTR D2, walk towards Queens Road, cross road towards Coach, turn left after coach
to enter Stanley Street. Restaurant is on the left lane.

永華麵家 Wing Wah Noodle Shop @ Wan Chai, Bamboo pressed

I think their noodles are a bit soggy. Service is good. Space is tight and limited. They are also famous for their desserts although I find it pretty average.

89 Hennessy Road Wan Chai Exit A2, walk along Hennessy road, until you see restaurant on the right.

IMG_4195 IMG_4197 IMG_4198

Noodles

池記 Chee Kee @ Central

I find both their noodles and congee has a nice texture. And service is good, not the table sharing type. Their double boiled soups are worth a try.

G/F-1/F, Chinese Club Building, 21-22 Connaught Road, Central MTR exit C, turn right onto Connaught road, and restaurant is along connaught main road

IMG_2026 IMG_2027 IMG_2029 IMG_2030

正斗粥麵專家 Tasty Congee & Noodle Wantun Shop

One of my personal favourites before I lived in HK as the shop’s location is tourist friendly & convenient.
. Although I think it can be a bit too salty sometimes but its still excellent. I love their menu where you can order anything from noodles, congee to classic cantonese dishes and dim sum.

Above IFC Airport Express Check in, Level 3. Avoid Lunch hours as it gets really packed with a long wait.

沾仔記 Tsim Chai Kee Noodle @ Central/Sheung Wan

Their menu is short and simple. They serve what they do best. Wan ton mee. Their wantons are surprisingly huge with big prawns stuffings.
Their noodle is cooked to perfection. Nothing to fuss about. Service is good too.

Shop B, G/F Jade Centre, 98 Wellington Street, Central

IMG_3934 IMG_3936

何洪記 Ho Hung Kee 

Their congee and noodles are both high quality. Great place, nice service. I also go there for their wanton noodles and lean meat preserved egg congee. Click title for full review.

Shop 1204-1205, 12/F, Hysan Place, 500 Hennessy Road, Causeway Bay Exit F
麥奀記 (忠記) 麵家 Mak An Kee Noodle

麥兆記(祖傳)廣州雲吞麵 Mak Siu Kee Traditional Wonton Noodle

Mak noodles are famous. I like their beef brisket noodles. Its packed full of flavour and soft tender beef tendons and beef briskets.  They have many outlets in Central, Tin Hau.

信得過 Trusty Gourmet @ Wan Chai
Shop A, G/F, Fasteem Mansion, 307-311 Jaffe Road, Wan Chai

靠得住 Trusty Congee King
Shop 31, G/F, Tai On House, 57-87 Shau Kei Wan Road, Sai Wan Ho

This is my go to place for congee and noodles. I love their boiled fish skin with spring onion garnishings.
And their dumpling is delicous. I could never get sick of it.
Their service is good. I read there was some complains before but it did not happen to me. Read my congee review list here.

摩廚麵館 Maureen

This is not your usual noodles place in HK. This is a bit more up market than your normal noodle shop.

The restaurant also prides itself on modern cooking techniques like slow cooked food  and combining asian ingredients with Western style food and techniques.

The duck leg braised in plum sauce falls off the bone nicely. It tastes more Western than Asian to me.

The beef ribs also taste like normal beef ribs, but its nice though. The Asian notes do not seem prominent.

I would say its a nice cafe. I was expecting an element of fusion like Bo Innovation or with the infusion of additional Asian notes to bring the dish to the next level.

Their noodles are nice. It tastes exactly like the famous Yong Tau Fu store from Chinatown complex in Singapore. For someone who has not tasted this before will probably like it. But for me, this is what I am used to eating, so it dint blow me over.

I dont think the staff can communicate in English as I would have thought so, as the place gives me the impression it leans towards being more Western.

G/F, 11 Hing Wan Street, Wan Chai

IMG_4222 IMG_4221 IMG_4220 IMG_4219 IMG_4218

Leave a Reply

